Was “Going Off Grid” a Premonition?


Many moons ago I wrote “Going Off Grid“.  Little did I know that it would be months before I found my way back to the keyboard.  It’s funny how life has a way of rearranging your priorities and derailing the best laid plans.

Two weeks before our vacation my husband and I enrolled in a week long intensive trading course offered by Online Trading Academy.  I will write more about this in a later post but at the time, I had visions of sitting on the deck of our beach rental overlooking the ocean while practicing my new skills.   I also had serious intentions of posting awesome pictures and quick posts about the experiences we were destined to enjoy.

Wow!  How wrong could I be!?!  Before we ever arrived at our rental, we realized our cell phone reception was severely lacking.  We had trouble making calls the closer we got and after arriving we realized we not only had little to no reception we also had NO internet to speak of.  Being optimists at heart we hoped that the thunderstorms that invaded the island on Friday morning were causing the interference.  The sun came out on Sunday afternoon but had no effect on the cells or internet.  Well… there went my hopes for sporadic posting.

Ok, so that was the bad news.  The good news is, by being disconnected (literally) we were able to completely enjoy our vacation and experience everything just for the sake of enjoying it.  No wondering if I should post this pic right away or tweet the beautiful sunset or check in on Foursquare.  We were not connected to the digital world but found that it gave us more time to connect with each other and the beauty around us.

All in all, going off grid was just what we had in mind!

Boomers walk

Happy travels,

Edwina

Categories: Beaches, Texas, Travel | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Was “Going Off Grid” a Premonition?

  1. Good for you! I sometimes feel like a total failure as a travel blogger because when I’m traveling is when I LEAST feel like writing about traveling. You’ve worked your tail off for an awesome trip, and you want to sit back and live in the moment, not be constantly wi-fi hopping. That said, I do try to journal so I have some memories to come back to when I do sit down to write.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

