When Monkeys Fly


For several weeks now, we have searched high and low for a travel mascot to join us on our journeys.  We were not overly picky.  He had to be a good traveler, first and foremost.  He would also need to be able to pack light, not mind having his picture taken (so I don’t have to), enjoy road trips as well as long flights, not be too tall or too small and very important that he did NOT need batteries (been there… done that!).   All in all, we didn’t think our list of “demands” would be too hard to fill.

Fortunately, for us, we found the perfect applicant after meeting and interviewing many would-be mascots.   He hails from the Southern Grove of Banana Kingdom.  We  were very pleased with his arrival last week and as you can see, he came fully packed and ready to take on his new role as our travel mascot.  He reminds me so much of the sock monkey my Grandmother made me when I was a child.  I used to carry him everywhere but he was retired many years ago.  Naturally this guy was ahead of the game when it came time to choose the best applicant because of the resemblance and memories alone.  It’s a good thing that he appears to be very photogenic and maybe even a bit of a ham too!

s

He's here!

Shortly after his arrival we became aware of a small stumbling block.  He tells us his name is too hard to pronounce and he doesn’t even know how to spell it in English.  Well, now what were we supposed to do?  We can’t just call him “Monkey” or “Mascot”.  We decided we should let all of you help us choose a name for him.  Better yet, let’s make it a contest and the winning name will get a gift certificate for a 2 night hotel stay in one of 23 destinations.  He will make the final choice after all the names are entered, of course, and we will announce the winner on our Facebook page on Friday.  Please leave us your suggestions below in the comments section or over on our Facebook page.  We will collect all the names from both sites and give them to him for final review.

Extra points go to creativity also!  Two examples are:  Napoleon Bananaparte (Leon for short) or maybe T-MO (for Travel Monkey).  So, unleash your creative juices and let’s find him an outstanding name.

Happy travels,

Edwina

Categories: Travel, Travel, Yapa Now Travel | Tags: , , , , | 34 Comments

Post navigation

34 thoughts on “When Monkeys Fly

  1. How about Flym? As in, Flying Monkey? Short and original 🙂

  2. Great idea! I don’t have any inspired ideas for a name though.

    I’ve been thinking of doing the same thing for my upcoming trip.

  3. Letsgo … “let’s go see what new places we can explore!” can’t wait to see the winning name!

    • I like that, Cindy. I’m anxious to see what his name will be too! Be sure you check the Facebook page on Friday or check our post that day also.

  4. Monkey Trunks!

    oh my head hurts, lol

  5. Honey, the Travel Monkey!

  6. Fun read. Hum……a traveling monkey…….always on the go? How about Will Travel the traveling monkey?

  7. Ohh cute a friend of mine makes these. Travel Spot?

  8. The first thought popped into my head for your traveling companion…after reading his description is “Maxwell Smarty Pants” I had a sock monkey too and I’ve always thought he resembled the character on I Spy – Maxwell Smart. Just sayin’…

  9. What a cute idea! I’m asking my boys what the name should be… all I can think of is “Sock”… haha! Hopefully my boys can come up with a creative name! (unlike me-smile)

  10. We’ve got ‘cutey-patouty’ (from my daughter Andy)

  11. S.H. Packin (Send Him Packin’) 🙂

  12. So cute! My kids suggested the name Mo-Mo and it’s easy to spell too:)

  13. I’m the WORST at nicknames. But he’s awfully cute!

  14. What a cute idea…I’m wracking my brain for a name….I’ll be back 🙂

  15. I like the suggestion from Dr. Daisy…Mo-Mo sounds so easy to spell and say! I just can’t think of anything better at the moment, but I’ll stop by if something better will come into my mind! 🙂 Good luck with your contest!

  16. Mr Sake

  17. What a fun post! Sorry I missed it but loved reading all the ideas!

  18. I like this web blog very much, Its a real nice office to read and incur information. “The one thing that doesn’t abide by majority rule is a person’s conscience.” by Harper Lee.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

